Buckeye Science and Engineering Fair

April 4, 2020

Schedule of the day

8:15 am - Registration and set-up - there will be a continental breakfast provided for the students. 

9:15 am - Student welcome

9:30 am - Judging starts (Round 1)

12:00 pm - End of Round 1

12:45 pm - Announcement of students advancing to Round 2

1:00 pm - Start of Round 2

3:00 pm - ISEF Qualifiers announced - A total of 6 projects will be advanced to ISEF




As program of The Ohio Academy of Science, the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair (BSEF) provides all Ohio's students in grades 9-12 with an opportunity to qualify for the International Science & Engineering Fair (ISEF). The ISEF is the largest and most prestigious science fair in the world. Each year over 1,700 students from more than 70 countries, regions, and territories around the world gather to compete for nearly $5,000,000 in awards and scholarships. For information please visit Intel ISEF

Students will need to qualify for the BSEF through their District Science Days (see map). Each District will be allocated a certain number of students (grades 9-12 only) that can qualify for BSEF. These qualifying students will then be able to compete at the BSEF for the opportunity to advance to the ISEF. 

District Science Days

Please click on the map to see a listing of contact information for the District Science Days.

Thank you to our sponsors!


Congratulations to all of the students who participated in the 2019 BSEF. This day is made possible by our host CAS and sponsors, Ethicon and AEP Foundation.  and each of volunteers and judges.

Seven students will represent the BSEF (The Ohio Academy of Science)  as presenters for the 2019 International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF).  The 2019 ISEF is being held from May 12-17, in Phoenix, where students from more than 60 countries will compete for more than $4 million in scholarships and awards 

The 2019 BSEF Finalist selected to compete in the 2019 ISEF:

  • Prashamsa Koirala, Ottawa Hills HS, Ottawa Hills

  • Virginia Ma, Columbus Academy , Columbus

  • Govind Nadathur, Sycamore HS, Cincinnati

  • Arvind Prasad, Sycamore HS, Cincinnati

  • Mohini Parvate, Dublin Jerome HS, Dublin

  • Leena Vyas, Tippencanoe HS, Tipp City

  • Leon Wu, Upper Arlington HS, Upper Arlington

Pictures from the 2019 BSEF: