

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 6, 2025

Contact: Michael E. Woytek, Executive Director

614-389-2182

mwoytek@ohiosci.org

Ohio students become finalists for the Regeneron International Science & Engineering Fair

Dublin, Ohio – A total of 95 students from 38 high schools competed at the **Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair.** Sponsored by the **AEP Foundation** and hosted by **CAS**, the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair is a program of **The Ohio Academy of Science.** This highly competitive program offers the opportunity for Ohio's students to advance to **the Regeneron International Science & Engineering Fair (ISEF) May 10-16, 2025 in Columbus.**

2025 Regeneron ISEF Finalists Announced to represent the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair

Mr. Jack D'Cruz – The University School, Cuyahoga

Ms. Kyla Fallis – Bath High School, Allen

Ms. Kira Florek - Mentor High School, Lake

Mr. Mateo Johnson – Metro Early College High School, Columbus

Ms. Kara Jones – Central Christian School, Kidron

Ms. Anuki Mudalige - Olentangy Orange High School, Lewis Center

Mr. Anshul Sharma - The University School, Cuyahoga

Ms. Elena Zhu - Upper Arlington High School, Franklin

Mr. Michael Zhu - The University School, Cuyahoga

These nine (9) students have been selected to compete at the 2025 Regeneron ISEF, where they will join 1,800 other students from 70 countries and territories to compete for nearly \$9,000,000 in scholarships and awards.

"These students have been led by their curiosity to find new discoveries and answers to their questions.", said Michael E. Woytek, Executive Director of The Ohio Academy of Science. This year's projects covered a wide range of scientific categories. The 2025 Finalists presented in the categories of Biomedical and Health Sciences, Cellular and Molecular Biology, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Embedded Systems, Energy: Sustainable Materials and Design, Physics and Astronomy, Plant Sciences, Robotics and Intelligent Machines. Woytek added, "our program celebrates and encourages today's students to use inquiry and design to solve problems that improve the human condition and issues within our communities."

Sponsored awards at the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair included:

American Psychological Association – Evan Dan (Solon HS)

Association for Women Geoscientists – Kara Jones (Central Christian School)

NASA Earth System Science Award – Laasya Acharya (William Mason HS)

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) – Blessing Gyimah (Horizon Science Academy Columbus)

Regeneron Biomedical Science Award – Karina Krishnan (Beachwood HS)

Naval Science Award – Laasya Acharya (William Mason HS), Harhui Lee (Sylvania Northview HS), and Elena Zhu (Upper Arlington HS)

Ricoh Sustainable Development Award – Sadhil Mehta (Tippecanoe HS)

Society for In Vitro Biology – Jack D'Cruz (The University School)

U.S EPA – Cole Bruderly (Southeast HS), Lucas D'Cruz (The University School), Jackson DeWitt (Global Impact STEM Academy), Kyla Fallis (Bath HS), Kira Florek (Mentor HS), Isaiah Fuhr (Rock Hill Sr HS), Blessing Gyimah (Horizon Science Academy Columbus), Liam Hartley (Milton-Union HS), Kara Jones (Central Christian School), Harhui Lee (Sylvania Northview HS), Ismael Masood (The University School), Adrian McKenzie (Dayton Regional STEM School), Audrey Nixon (Ottawa Hills HS), Maxwell Opel (Sylvania Northview HS), Samhita Paranthaman (William Mason HS), Shiv Patel (Anderson HS), Siya Patel (Anderson HS), Sur Patel (Anderson HS), Rebekah Repp (Sylvania Northview HS), Quinton Smith (Ottawa Hills HS), Collin Snider (Tippecanoe HS), Sarang Srikanth (William Mason HS), Dana Stan (New Albany HS), Dylan Vance (Benjamin Logan HS), Vatsal Varshney Dayton Regional STEM School), Robert Whittington (Zane Trace HS), Ahsan Zamir (Sylvania Northview HS)

U.S. Metric Association – Michael Zhu (The University School)

United States Air Force – Mateo Johnson (Metro Early College HS), Charlie Pochet (Dayton Regional STEM School), and Griffin Quigley (The University School)

Water Environment Federation / Stockholm Junior Water Prize — Harhui Lee (Sylvania Northview HS)
Yale Science and Engineering Association — Daniel Lee (Sylvania Northview HS)

John and Ruth Melvin Scholars – The following students were selected to represent the Ohio Academy of Science at the 2026 American Junior Academy of Science Meeting (Phoenix AZ) and \$100 toward the AJAS registration:

Laasya Acharya (William Mason High School)

Nikhil Bhimireddy (Olentangy Liberty High School)

Ethan Chan (The University School)

Molly Chhabra (William Mason High School)

Evan Dan (Solon High School)

Ritav Das (Dublin Jerome High School) Jack D'Cruz (The University School) Lucas D'Cruz (The University School) Aubrey Ernst (Tippecanoe High School)

Kyla Fallis (Bath High School)
Kira Florek (Mentor High School)

Keshav Goyal (Upper Arlington High School) Audrey Jackson (Tippecanoe High School) Rebecca Jacob (Solon High School) Arjun Jain (Miami Valley High School)

Mateo Johnson (Metro Early College High School)

Kara Jones (Central Christian School)

Daniel Lee (University School)

Harhui Lee (Sylvania Northview High School)

Sahand Maleki (The University School)

Anuki Mudalige (Olentangy Orange High School) Adharsh Narendrakumar (St Ignatius High School) Samhita Paranthaman (William Mason High School) Charlie Pochet (Dayton Regional STEM School)

Niklas Rietsch (The University School) Anshul Sharma (The University School)

Bryan Shin (Solon High School)

Quinton Smith (Ottawa Hills High School) Nandita Srikumar (Solon High School) Dana Stan (New Albany High School) Ela Van Oss (Tippecanoe High School) Sophia Wu (Columbus Academy)

Elena Zhu (Upper Arlington High School)

Michael Zhu (The University School)

Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair - Page 3

A total of 38 high schools were represented at the 2025 Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair. They include:

Anderson High School, Hamilton Bath High School, Allen Beachwood High School, Cuyahoga Beavercreek High School, Green Benjamin Logan High School, Logan Central Christian School, Wayne Columbus Academy, Gahanna Columbus School For Girls, Franklin Dayton Regional STEM School, Montgomery Dublin Jerome High School, Franklin Global Impact STEM Academy, Clark Hathaway Brown, Shaker Heights Hawken School, Geauga Horizon Science Academy Columbus, Franklin Mentor High School, Lake Metro Early College High School, Franklin Miami East High School, Miami

New Albany High School, Franklin Olentangy High School, Delaware Olentangy Liberty High School, Delaware Olentangy Orange High School, Delaware Ottawa Hills High School, Lucas Rock Hill Sr High School, Lawrence Solon High School, Cuyahoga Southeast Local Schools, Portage Springboro High School, Warren St Edward, Cuyahoga St Ignatius High School, Cuyahoga Summit Country Day, Hamilton Sylvania Northview High School, Lucas The University School, Cuyahoga Tippecanoe High School, Miami University School, Chagrin Falls Upper Arlington High School, Franklin William Mason High School, Warren Zane Trace High School, Ross

To visit the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair and view the project displays, please use this link https://projectboard.world/bsef/

For more information, about The Ohio Academy of Science, please call 614-389-2182 or email mwoytek@ohiosci.org. Additional information can also be found at:

www.ohiosci.org www.ohiosci.org/bsef https://student.societyforscience.org/intel-isef

Maimi Valley High School, Montgomery Milton-Union High School, Miami