American Junior Academy of Science

Each year, The Ohio Academy of Science recognizes and rewards pre-college, student researchers as Melvin Scholars. These students (Melvin Scholars) will represent Ohio at the national American Junior Academy of Science (AJAS) meeting. This meeting is held in conjunction with the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) meeting.  AJAS provides Ohio students an opportunity to interact with other student researchers from across the country as well as scientific professionals from around the world.

In addition to interacting with student scientists and professionals, there are activities for the students to participate in throughout the week. These activities include interactive laboratory experiences, field trips, plenary lectures, and small group meetings with world renowned scientists and engineers.

AJAS is very unique because it is not a competition, rather it is a conference that celebrates student success by introducing them to the social, cultural, intellectual, and professional aspects of STEM professions.

Melvin Scholars are selected based upon the quality of their research presented at the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair.


Please help us in congratulating the most recent students named as Melvin Scholars!

Carlirina Andrada – Mentor HS

Dylan Berr – University School

Snehal Choudhury – Jackson HS

Snigidha Cingireddi – Hathaway Brown School

Carlton Cort – University School

Mihai Crisan  – Upper Arlington HS

Habir Dass – University School

Johan DeMessie – William Mason HS

Alex Devine – University School

Kelly Dong – Carroll HS

Anish Gupta – Sylvania Northview HS

Katie Harbaugh – Hathaway Brown School

Lorelei Huber – Ottawa Hills HS

Destynn Keuchel – Hawken School

Alex Kmetko – University School

Ajay Krishnaney – University School

Haroon Lughmani– Sylvania Northview HS

Ryan McGinnis – West Geauga HS

Sanchita Paranthaman – William Mason HS

Jacob Rintamaki – Westlake HS

Ameya Saraf – William Mason HS

Suzy Schwabl – Hathaway Brown School

Lisa Sebastian – Bethel HS

Audrey Zorman – Beaumont School

Scroll to Top